B is for Barry, A to Z Challenge

He sleeps when I sleep.

He reminds me to drink 80 ounces of water daily, simply by example. He enjoys a meal when I eat.

He respects my tendency towards sensory overload, sitting in total silence with me for hours on end. He never complains that I have been too focused on my physical pain, but instead rests in his easy meditative state all day, sighing gently now and then, reminding me to mimic his ways and see life’s beauty.  Although I am often bed-bound, we complete at least one guided meditation per day with my thousands of fellow meditators on Insight Meditation (such a beautiful online community).

He doesn’t even know the extent to which he enhances my daily life. He is my personal Dahlai Lama. He’s my dog, Barry.DSCN7013

(C) Copyright -Stacey M. Patterson. All rights reserved.

13 thoughts on “B is for Barry, A to Z Challenge

  1. is that shih tzu or am I wrong? I have a small shiht tzu myself. Princess Riana Dolores von der Silberanch 🙂
    I have no idea,how i would come through some tough days without her.She just makes me smile,when the things get rough. She and Barry could be good friends 🙂 Loved your post.Good luck with the challenge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

