Avoidance and Writing: The Roberta Mickel Method

Dinty explains exactly why I often can’t get started writing! I have a lovely new 45 min glass hourglass with purple sand. Do you think it will inspire me? (I guess I have to unpack it first). LOL. Keep on keeping on, writers!
Mo

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

zz-040By Judith Sornberger

You would not believe how many things I’ve done today to avoid beginning this essay. (Except, if you’re a writer, you probably would.) I say writing means more to me than just about anything, but I would do almost anything some days to postpone putting pen to paper (including going shopping for a new, magic pen), especially when it comes to breaking the ice on a new writing project. This morning, for instance, I called a friend to commiserate on how little we’ve been writing. Then I scrubbed a pan that had soaked overnight in the sink, grocery shopped, stopped in at my local bookstore to check on a book I’d ordered (knowing full well it couldn’t have arrived yet) and, of course, had to browse. Then I went through my closet, wondering if it might be time to donate everything below size sixteen, my current size, which…

View original post 667 more words

Leave a Reply

